H. George Tanaka M.D.

Ophthamology Specialist

Educational Background

Dr. Tanaka graduated with high honors from Princeton University where he majored in electrical engineering and computer science, Dr. Tanaka went on to receive his medical degree from Harvard Medical School and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He conducted two years of eye research in the Howe Laboratory at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary. Dr. Tanaka completed an ophthalmology residency at California Pacific Medical Center in San Francisco where he received the Erdbrink Resident Research Award. He then finished a glaucoma fellowship at Northwestern University before entering private practice and joining the clinical faculty at CPMC.

Professional Background

H. George Tanaka, MD, is a board-certified and fellowship-trained glaucoma and cataract surgeon in the Bay Area. Dr. Tanaka has been offering his expertise in glaucoma diagnosis and management for nearly twenty years. He is currently Co-Director of the Glaucoma Service at California Pacific Medical Center where he has been awarded the Clinical Faculty Teaching award five times. Dr. Tanaka was also the first Bay Area glaucoma specialist to perform all of the recently FDA-approved MIGS (Minimally Invasive Glaucoma Surgery) procedures. Dr. Tanaka has lectured locally, nationally, and internationally on glaucoma diagnosis and surgery. He conducted two years of eye research in lens and corneal metabolism at the Howe Laboratory of Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary before receiving his medical degree with honors from Harvard Medical School His current research interests include novel methods of improving the success of traditional and MIGS glaucoma procedures. He has authored articles in both peer-reviewed journals and subspecialty publications. His current research interests include novel methods of improving the success of conventional glaucoma procedures. Dr. Tanaka serves as an Associate Examiner for the American Board of Ophthalmology. He is a member of the American Glaucoma Society and American Academy of Ophthalmology from which he recently received an Achievement Award.